D’s Holo-Journal

TentaclePapi
The Tentaverse
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Entry #1

December 14, 2090 (Post EO)

I carry a concealed T180 Laser Pistol on my person at all times. I’m traveling with precious cargo, so to speak. So I feel it is a necessity, especially in my line of work.

It is wildly dangerous to travel the sectors now, but in this environment, I feel comfortable. I think this life of lawlessness is starting to appeal to me. Whether that is good or bad, I don’t have an answer. All I know is one thing.

I’m great at what I do.

And doing it alone is interesting. You think you’d be on edge, but actually, it’s quite the opposite.
For me, anyway.

My reputation within the sectors is well known. In this salty soup of thieves, zombies, and roving gangs, I am respected. No one crosses me.

The last gang of Marauders that tried to lighten my load learned a valuable lesson. When I draw my pistol, I don’t miss.

I forgot to mention, I mainly deal in $INK, which has become something of a hot commodity these days within the sectors, after the EO took over.

I’ve amassed my wealth by transporting and trading $INK in large quantities, bartering for more valuable items, and using those to build my home compound. A fortress fit for a King.

And that is exactly what I plan to be. I wasn’t in our last society, but I will be in the new world.

Sorry if that seems self-aggrandizing, but I no longer feel the need to lie. This new life has energized me in ways I cannot describe. I’m not addicted to $INK, but I may be addicted to this lifestyle.

Traveling from the North Sector today to the East Sector should theoretically be easy.

It’s a stone’s throw from the North. Even with my reputation ringing throughout the sectors, the intelligent move would be to travel with my invisibility cloak. The cargo I carry is worth more than you could imagine, and I take no chances. Ever.

I debated taking the Zexel river that begins in the Northwest near the frigid sea, travels throughout the North, Through the East past the Capitol city of Veligro, and empties back into the ocean in two places near the Easternmost point of East Sector.

It’s a quick and dirty route to unload $INK within the Eastern Capitol for supplies.

The problems with taking the Zexel are many. The fierce rapids throughout, a violent whirlpool that never ceases to end called The Devil’s Eye (located where the ocean meets the river in the Northeast), and the roving bands of mercenaries and thieves that watch the riverbank, waiting for unsuspecting travelers to rob and pillage. As you can imagine, it’s less difficult to simply walk.

The 50+ lbs of $INK strapped to my back under the invisibility cloak feels light as a feather, thanks to a little device known as a GDM, or Gravity Distortion Module. It’s a small, shiny silver box the size of a baseball which contains a special element within the core. That element alters gravitational waves in order to make these 50+ lbs feel like 5.

It wasn’t cheap. But it was worth it.

Did I mention I’ve been doing this for a while? Hopefully, I’ve gotten the point across by now.

And how exactly did I end up with so much $INK? I’ll save that for the next entry. That’s a long story and a dirty little secret. I guess I should tell you eventually, but not today!

I have $INK to transport, and no time to waste. Time is money, and money is $INK.

Until next time.

  • D.

--

--