Habiba Gaballah // Young and Full of Dreams.

Desi Manova
The Things They Don’t Tell You
3 min readMar 23, 2020

Habiba Gaballah has three sisters, but technically, she has four. Her mother is so close to the four of them that she often gets confused for a fifth sister.

Habiba Gaballah is an 18-year-old Egyptian studying in the American University in Cairo. Photo sent by Habiba herself.

Habiba is immensely attached to her family, and she cannot imagine living anywhere besides her hometown of Cairo, Egypt. “I would go to study abroad for three or four months, maybe somewhere in Europe. But I would never go for more. My mom would be devastated if I leave for longer,” shares Habiba while a big smile brightens up her tired-of-classes face. Her idea of a family has been shaped by the Egyptian culture, which is famous for its big family gatherings, enriched with good food and numerous friendly relatives.

As much as she likes spending time with her family, Habiba cannot spend more than 24 consecutive hours at home without going out. She is extremely social, so a lack of interaction does not treat her well. She likes to go out with friends, take photos, eat sushi, and drive around town. Habiba recently got her driver’s license, which makes her very proud. “I am so happy I got my license. Now, when I need some me-time, I just hop in the car, blast some music and drive around. I even talk to myself sometimes,” jokes Habiba, her energetic laugh piercing through every part of the classroom she sits at.

All this time spent around other people has taught her some invaluable lessons. “No one cares about you as much as you do. Why should I overthink how I look or how I act when the only one who notices is me,” reveals Habiba. Her contagious laugh is interrupted by the seriousness on her face. She removes a strand of her voluminous, curly hair, and reveals the freckles on her cheeks. People always mistake her for a super confident person because she is loud and outspoken. On the inside, her self-consciousness often prevails.

Her insecurities, however, do not get in the way of her dreams and goals. Habiba is currently studying Integrated Marketing Communications, Sociology and Graphic Design. The American University in Cairo, where she studies, uses the liberal arts system, which allows her to pursue multiple majors at a time, and she plans to take in as much as possible. “I am so glad my university is not like the traditional Egyptian universities. If it weren’t for liberal arts, I wouldn’t know what I want to study. I need to explore,” says Habiba with noticeable relief.

The relief in her voice is succeeded by some nervousness when she is asked about her position as a woman in the Egyptian society. Although Arab countries are infamous for mistreating women, Habiba likes to look at the situation from the bright side. “Women around here are not as free as in other places. That is true. But it is becoming history. My mother’s generation had many limitations, but now, with education and social media, things in Egypt are definitely progressing,” believes the 18-year-old.

Habiba’s eyes always glitter with hope. She hopes for a better future, and a successful life, but mainly, she hopes for happiness. Photo sent by Habiba herself.

For her young age, Habiba is very mature. She sets goals for herself. She achieves them. She plans events. She helps people. She donates, both time and resources. She lives to improve. “I have a lot of privileges. I am fully aware of that,” smiles Habiba. “I want other people to have what I have. I want to help them achieve it.”

Habiba is impatient to start living her adult life. She wants to find this one thing that gets her blood flowing, and pursue it for the rest of her life. “People are innately selfish, and that is sometimes okay. You shouldn’t do anything that you don’t feel like doing. Think about yourself, think about your passion, and work towards being happy.”

Desi Manova is a Journalism and Mass Communication student at the American University in Bulgaria. She met Habiba through a university project and envies her optimism.

--

--