Transistor : In One Word, Elegant

Thank you SuperGiant Games. 

Farrel Nobel
The Think Tank

--

To me, Medium is a place to share things that you’re interested in. And that means anything.

ANYTHING.

Since Video Games are a kind of passion to me, Yes, I will be posting about video games from time to time.

Aaaaand… On with the post.

I usually wait until I’ve played through 80% or finished the game entirely to write a review on the game and tell readers about what the game has to offer. But very few times, there comes the exception. And Transistor is definitely one of them.

I seriously feel that this game is overshadowed by the release of major blockbuster video game, Watch Dogs and thus, doesn’t get the praise that it deserves. I mean it’s easy to just say it looks like a good game or the visuals look interesting.

But that’s now what I mean.

I’m talking about true appreciation. That feeling when you’ve played a game and you know that it’s something special and all you want to do is shake the developer’s hand, congratulate him on a job well done. By praise, I don’t mean the simple compliment. No. I mean you have to play the game and truly appreciate everything that it’s giving you.

Yes, there’s always some nonsensical game mechanic that hinders the experience but that can be forgiven for the amount of beauty and class that Transistor offers gamers. There’s just so much art in the game and top notch quality from the gameplay to voice acting that you’d be a fool to skip this gem.

It’s the first time since the old Final Fantasy games where I actually enjoyed the music. So much that I listen to them on a daily basis now. My 2 favorite tunes from the soundtrack has to be “We All Become” and “Paper Boats”. I recommend all you gamers and music lovers to give those 2 listen.

This is not a review. Not by a long shot. This is simply me, a gamer, appreciating an amazing and well-designed product that clearly took a long time to produce. And to Supergiant Games, thank you for making such a wonderful game and I’m expecting big things from you.

Look at it! Just Beautiful.

If you’ve enjoyed playing this game then please recommend this post. Spread the word, more people should play this!

-Farrel

--

--

Farrel Nobel
The Think Tank

Graphic Designer focusing in Branding & Identity. Follow me on Dribbble | Behance | Twitter -> @farrelnobel