How I overcame a disastrous transition from active duty to civilian life.

Rob Jones
The Thought Lodge
Published in
3 min readAug 9, 2022
Photo by israel palacio on Unsplash

By Rob Jones

If you are a veteran transitioning to civilian work, you may be feeling overwhelmed and uncertain about your future. This is common and frankly, it is warranted. The civilian job market is very competitive and unforgiving.

When I left active duty in 2005, I didn’t have a well-thought-out plan to succeed in civilian life. I thought I did, but I just made a lot of immature mistakes. I had taken a computer class several months before I transitioned and it taught me nothing and left me straddled with debt. I spend my first six months underemployed, working three part-time jobs and getting no sleep. All just to have to put my house up for sale just to make it. When I finally did land a job, I had so much debt that I spent a period sleeping in my car so I could save the rent money. The old dollar menu at McDonald’s was my regular dining option. I could have it twice a day if I watched my budget.

The good news is that there are many resources available today to help you make the transition as smooth as possible. You don’t have to struggle as I did.

These are just a few lessons that I picked up over the years that I still find beneficial to this day.

1. Know your options first.

There are many different types of jobs available, and it is important to find one that is a good fit for your skills and interests. Take some time to explore different industries and job titles, and talk to others who have made the transition from military to civilian work. You can also attend job fairs or networking events specifically for veterans. I had developed a marketable skillset from my time on active duty and I didn’t recognize it. Had I done my homework, and attended a few job fairs, I might have landed on my feet much sooner.

2. Leverage your experience.

Start thinking about this early. Don’t make the mistake I did and waste money on training or certifications you won’t use. In the military, you likely acquired a variety of skills that can be translated into the civilian workforce. For example, if you have experience leading a team, managing projects, or working with complex equipment, these are all highly sought-after skills in the civilian world. Leverage your experience! I had experience in supply operations. After I landed on my feet, I spent the next 5 years working in supply chain management-related positions.

When writing your resume, be sure to highlight your transferable skills and experiences. Don’t be afraid to get help writing a resume! I got help with my first professional resume and that help is why I was offered my first full-time job after leaving active duty.

3. Network

There are many organizations and support groups specifically for those who have served in the military. Utilizing these resources can provide valuable information about job opportunities, as well as emotional support during this difficult transition period. If you are reading this, I wrote this publication dedicated to veteran military leaders and transitioning military. Use this publication as a bridge to build your professional network.

Please note.

Making the switch from military to civilian life can be very stressful, and it may take some time to adjust. It is important to be patient and understand that this is a normal part of the transition process. You are not alone.

If you are struggling to adjust to civilian life, there are many support groups and resources available to help you. The Department of Veterans Affairs offers a variety of services specifically for veterans, and many non-profit organizations provide support. You can also reach out to family and friends for help during this transition period.

*I am the editor of this publication and if you are interested in joining the community and telling your stories on this growing publication, please reach out to me.

--

--

Rob Jones
The Thought Lodge

Rob Jones is the founder of the Thought Lodge and 1/2 of the daughter/dad duo bearandbaba on Tiktok.