Halloween Special

Mysterious Passages, Jewellery Stealing and Ghosts.

A spooky tale for Halloween which is completely true. I know it happened to me.

Sam H Arnold
The Write Hustle
Published in
5 min readOct 29, 2020

--

Photo by Bellava G on Unsplash

This story is going to read like a fiction tale on Halloween. It is a true story. Events that happened to my family and me in the house I grew up in.

So dim the lights and let me tell you about the haunted house of my childhood.

Old Tree Cottage

On the south coast of England is a little seaside village called Dymchurch. It is a popular place with both locals and holidaymakers. If you sneezed as you drove through, you would miss it. On a clear day, you can see France from the beach. Nicknamed the golden mile the beach lives up to its name.

Down one of the side streets is a grade two listed cottage, called Old Tree Cottage. It was my family home for the first 16 years of my life. Famous for being in the Dr Syn books the house was originally two buildings. The stonemasons and the coffin makers. Legend has it was built on a graveyard.

As you can imagine with this history, there was a lot of paranormal activity. Growing up with our extra house guests was second nature to us.

--

--

Sam H Arnold
The Write Hustle

My writing is now on Substack. Find me there for True Crime, Writing Tips, Books and Fiction - https://substack.com/@samharnold