Who We Are

We love sports

Avi Goldman
The Ticket
2 min readJan 23, 2017

--

For many, including myself, our first memory is of a sporting event: a buzzer-beater, a game-winning touchdown, a walk-off home run. Since that first time we’v been hooked. We can’t stop watching. Why? Who knows? I like to think that maybe it’s because we’re trying to recreate that feeling we felt that first time we experienced the purity and power of sports. The power to unite, the power to uplift, the power to inspire. Until June 2016, the last time I had felt that way was when I watched Aaron Boone hit a home run off Tim Wakefield to send the Yankees to the World Series. It couldn’t have mattered less to my six-year-old self that they ended up losing . I just wanted to be a part of it. Then, I watched LeBron race across the court, the weight of a city, the expectations of the world on his shoulders, and block out the sun (and Andre Iguodala), in one motion repenting for the sins of his past and answering a lifetime of questions. I’ll never forget where I was at that moment. Will you?

It is that feeling that we here at The Ticket will try to recreate for our readers. We have all loved sports for as long as we can remember and while to some the intricacies of the perfect lineup may be tedious, to us they are the fuel that feeds our late-night debates. We created this page as a sort of catharsis for ourselves but we hope that you will come to love it as much as we do.

Yours Truly,

— The Ticket

--

--