Non-toxic productivity

How to achieve your goals without burning yourself out

Briandito Priambodo
The Tiny Wisdom
Published in
4 min readDec 27, 2022

--

Productivity is often associated with the time you spend working. The more you hustle and perform, the more you will achieve and produce.

I think it’s one of the most common misconceptions about productivity.

I used to feel guilty about how I spent my time. I used to think that taking a break and relaxing were unproductive ways of spending my time. Using time as a measurement of productivity made me feel restless. I had to hustle all the time.

The easiest way to lose motivation is to burn yourself out. And using time as the measure of productivity is a recipe for burnout.

With this mindset, you’ll feel guilty if you are not being productive. You can’t play games or hang out with friends without feeling like you are wasting your time.

So how might we feel productive without exchanging our time for “productivity?”

What’s your intention?

Always start with a purpose. When you think you should do something, ask yourself why you are doing it. Who are you doing it for? What should be the desired output?

With a goal in mind: you can start to make plans. With a plan, you know how to pace yourself, when to…

--

--

Briandito Priambodo
The Tiny Wisdom

I transform thoughts and ideas into stories and visuals — inspired by books, quotes, experiences, and conversations. Read for free: http://thetinywisdom.com