Steve Peele II
the top of my mind.
2 min readJun 17, 2016

--

why I left when you sat down at the bar.

There’s an interesting thing happening in a once poverty stricken neighborhood in downtown cincinnati. Years ago this neighborhood was nationally recognized for the race riots that plagued the city and the violence that was so prevalent.

Back then, Cincinnati was notorious for the low quality of life and challenges that faced it: crime, violence, racial tension, poverty — just to name a few.

But a funny thing started happening 5–10 years ago (don’t quote me on that.) People began revitalizing the area, bringing modern housing and beautiful boutique shops to every corner. It has been fascinating to watch a city go from a place I feared visiting to a huge part of my identity and my pride.

There are many that have been in the city watching the revitalization happening. Buying coffee from the local baristas. Spending time at brand new craft breweries. Shopping at boutique shops.

You see, while the suburbanites scoffed at the idea that this once troubled neighborhood called “Over the Rhine” would be anything extravagant, there were people that rallied and championed it’s progress. While I touted the culture, arts and its inhabitants, you said “I’ll never go down there. Isn’t it dangerous?”

And therein lies the problem. While I’m all for past naysayers changing the way they think about this beautiful area, it comes at a cost.

The cost is humility, understanding and respect for what OTR has become.

I’ve noticed this shift of more “mainstream” acceptance of the neighborhood as more and more people flock from the burbs to take a stroll down our streets. In the past year alone the increase of “outside visitors” has been dramatic.

AND THATS A GOOD THING.

I want more people to find pride in a neighborhood that I’ve had the pleasure of watching thrive once again. That said, I need you to respect it.

When you enter a restaurant and they don’t have your favorite light beer, don’t moan. When the coffee takes longer to brew because it’s not Starbucks, don’t you dare disrespect the barista who spent time perfecting their craft to serve you.

The reason I left when you sat down at the bar was simply this: I don’t have interest in hearing you walk into a neighborhood you don’t know or understand and disrespect the people and culture that built it.

/entrant.

If you’re ever in cincinnati and want to check out this historical neighborhood, drop me a line on Twitter: @stevepeeleii

--

--

Steve Peele II
the top of my mind.

dad. son. brother. Growth marketer leading several high performing SaaS companies. Guitar for @utdwband and @wastedawayband . solo project @vacillantes