A WRITER’S LIFE

I Never Planned To Actually Start Over

Back on the bottom step

P.G. Barnett
The Top Shelf
Published in
5 min readSep 29, 2020

--

Right back where I started — Image by wei zhu on Pixabay

It’s bizarre. This month three years ago, I started on a journey only to realize today I’ve managed to climb my way to the bottom of the staircase where I originally started.

It’s not for lack of trying, I assure you. Granted, when I first signed up and put my money down, I was pretty clueless about how to make things work. But I learned, just like we all did, and pretty soon was in the groove.

In the first seven months, I had no routine, no specified chart to guide my efforts, and no real work ethic. So I’m counting those as the learning months. But after spending those same months reading other writers and parsing through all the clickbait bullshit con-artists, I found my way.

Or so I thought.

The result was over the last two years and five months, I’ve written eight hundred and ninety (890) pieces, which averages about thirty-one (31) pieces a month. It’s been a blend of individual essays, poems, opinion pieces, or Henry James series pieces. And it doesn’t count the number of times I commented on other writers’ work or replied to comments on my own work. Sitting here now, it’s exhausting to think about what I’ve done over the last two and a half years.

--

--

P.G. Barnett
The Top Shelf

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.