Sins of the Mother

How deep do they take root?

Sherry McGuinn
The Top Shelf

--

Image by Albrecht Fietz, Pixabay

I am not a fan of “Hallmark Holidays.” I never understood the concept of needing one day a year to tell a parent or grandparent that they are “loved.” Or, even, to tell a secretary that they are “appreciated.”

Perhaps it’s fallout from our self-absorbed society that we need to be reminded to exhibit such human emotions as love and appreciation on a specified day.

Whenever one of these manufactured holidays rolled around, I was often frustrated, trying to pick out just the right card, and there never seemed to be a one that came close to defining my relationship with my mother or father. I do not gush, and neither did they. So, after deliberating way too long, I would snatch the one that’s prose came closest to what I was feeling.

And of course, for those of us whose parents have passed, or who no longer have a relationship with them, these “holidays” can be very painful, indeed. They dredge up long-repressed memories of hurt and resentment that do far more harm than most people deserve.

But, I do not, nor do I mean to disrespect those folks who enjoy their day of celebration and who deserve to be feted with brunches and gifts and overpriced cards. Not every family is dysfunctional, after all, as much as some of us would like to believe otherwise. The members…

--

--

Sherry McGuinn
The Top Shelf

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com