Writing Wounded

Medium, when will you recognize the “rest of us?”

Sherry McGuinn
The Top Shelf

--

Source: Flickr.Com

A couple of days ago, I received my usual ass-kicking via email, from Medium, telling me that they’d be sending me eighty bucks and change for my previous month’s work in the Partner Program.

Yes, I am disappointed. Again. However, before you turn away in disgust, this isn’t my standard rant. I’m happy to have the $80, but I want more. And I want more for other writers, here, as well. Why? Because we’ve worked hard and long and we deserve it.

I know. I know what you’re thinking. So please don’t reiterate the tired twaddle that writers HAVE to write and that it’s “not about the cash.” Here’s the dirty little secret that isn’t so secretive: Hell, yeah. Oftentimes it IS about the cash.

It’s about the cash when you work your ass off, day after day, writing your crusty heart out, coming up with topic after topic that you hope and pray will ENGAGE like no writer’s ever engaged. When you rip your heart out revealing secrets you never in your wildest dreams thought you’d share.

It’s about the cash when you can’t find employment in your field of expertise, or anywhere for that matter because of the year you graduated high school.

It’s about the cash when you see lesser writers who squirt out story after banal story…

--

--

Sherry McGuinn
The Top Shelf

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com