Collateral Damage

The unintended consequences of transition.

Kira Wertz
The Transition Transmission
8 min readApr 26, 2018

--

If you’ve followed me long enough, I think it becomes evident that I am a huge advocate for early transition; particularly in youth. The reasons for this stem from my own battles with some very dysphoric body issues that all come as a direct result from going through puberty brought on by my natal gender. Many late transitioners have the same laments, as we are now stuck with permanent body structures that cannot be easily modified, if at all.

The ability to prevent irreparable physical and mental harm by initiating an early transition seems like a no-brainer, but there are less obvious reasons for aligning with your gender identity as soon as possible. What I am referring to is the harm brought to our loved ones.

Let me make it clear, many people of my age (or older) did not have an option to transition young because in our youth the medical establishment was more destructive to the Transgender community than it was helpful. Having been out for such a short time, it would be hard for me to really pinpoint exactly when the establishment shifted course from shame to support, but it absolutely occurred within the last 20 years.

Nowadays a child with affirming parents could expect to see a gender therapist, delay puberty, and eventually begin hormone replacement. While parents are going to grieve the loss of the child they thought they had, allowing this change prevents the suffering of countless others who would one day become friends…

--

--

Kira Wertz
The Transition Transmission

Pansexual, Transgender Truck Driver, public speaker, activist, LGBTQ advocate, Jeeper and periodic author at The Transition Transmission.