Moments Like This

Although life can be rough we can never give up.

Kira Wertz
14 min readOct 17, 2018

--

While the dying world re-defines
The reasons we strive to exist
We feign control though we’re bound to learn
The meaning of moments like this
Cause in the peaceful hour, the quiet spell
Seduced by the promise of bliss
We soon forget that nothing’s happened yet
We’re living for moments like this

On October 25th 2005, something amazing happened.

After years of searching for that one person who might complete me, I thought I’d found her. So sure was I in this assessment that I married her after only physically knowing her for 4 days. We held each other’s hands and heard our vows beautifully spoken in Hawaiian by ‘Auntie Malia’ among one of the few gazebos that adorned Liliuokalani Gardens in Hilo, Hawaii. It was a beautiful day to give away my love, and while there have been times I have doubted the strength of our love, I’ve never lost faith in it. Deep down, I knew that no matter what happened to us, I would always love her.

Now don’t get me wrong; this whirlwind romance didn’t happen as fast as I like to brag… There was a 3 month online courtship; plenty of time to get all of the individual proclivities we might need to get ‘out-of-the way’ prior to taking this plunge. It’s safe to say, we knew just about every single secret each of us had.

Well, almost all the secrets…

--

--

Kira Wertz
The Transition Transmission

Pansexual, Transgender Truck Driver, public speaker, activist, LGBTQ advocate, Jeeper and periodic author at The Transition Transmission.