All is Fair — a Poetry Sculpture

Arjan Tupan
The Tripple Effect
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2020
A poetry scultpure and a poem
My attempt at a poetry sculpture

Yeah, I do like a challenge. No, that’s not true. I love a challenge. Even that is an understatement. However, I also love books. Respect them, even. I went to publishing school, but even before that, I learned that books were pure magic. On their pages, places, real or imaginary, come to life and the people in them speak to you and show you how life is in their version of reality. Books are the gateway to all worlds real and imaginable.

So, the challenge by Lisa Bolin rocked my system. Try a new style, make a poetry sculpture. A poetic art form that involves creating poetry (love it), destroying books (not so much) and crafting a sculpture (not my expertise).

In the end, the challenge factor won. I destroyed a book (one I found in the “to discard” bin somewhere in the millennium before this one), and crafted a sculpture. It’s supposed to be a collection of triangles in groups of 3, 6 and 3. It mirrors the Tritriplicata, and of course the poem the sculpture represents is a Tritriplicata, too. Not all words are in the sculpture, but I think it’s the idea and the effort that counts. For now.

I did have fun making this thing, and it did open some creative door for me. So, thank you Lisa Bolin for the lovely challenge.

For those who like to have the poem in full, this is it:

All is fair
in creative process.
even the destruction of a book.
So I cut and I sculpt
this poem.

This poem is an answer to the call of Lisa Bolin to try a new style, the poetry sculpture. Read all about it here:

--

--

Arjan Tupan
The Tripple Effect

I help small businesses to find their story and tell it through new services and stories. Dad, poet and dot connector. Creator of the Tritriplicata. POM Poet.