California city street lined with palm trees, taken from a high angle

TCBs

Tyler M
The Trove

--

Did I ever tell you that I used to know these two alcoholics that lived in Redding? Back when I was doing temp jobs in California. These two guys loved bagels. Bagels and alcohol. I’d call them homeless, because that’s essentially what they were, but they had some kind of arrangement where they pooled their money and most weeks they stayed at a Motel 6 by the highway. Don’t ask me where they got the money. I only ever saw them on their morning bagel runs.

There was a bakery at the bottom of the hill not far from where I worked. I was on a smoke break one morning when I see these two grown men on a shitty little moped. They were so cramped together that I thought at first it was one dude giving the other a piggyback ride, but they were hauling ass downhill. The guy driving is a little shaky, but he keeps it on the sidewalk the whole way. I watched them turn into a parking lot and I thought that would be the end of it. Couple of cool dudes riding a shitty moped around on a Monday morning, you know, the usual.

— Read the rest of the story over at The Assortment

--

--