Americans No Longer Feel Truth To Be All That Self-Evident

Mark C. Marino
The Trumpet-Blow Institute
1 min readJan 19, 2017

--

In a Trumpet-Blow Institute survey of several of the Americans sitting around outside the GitGo market in Newbury, Louisiana, the majority voiced a change in a long-standing American view that “Truth” was such a “big deal.”

Executive Summary: Truth? meh.

Sample Question from Phone Survey

Do you think the truth is necessary?
Not really: 80%
I have a work thing to get to: 20%
Does “Do not call list” have NO meaning?: 10%

A typical response from young respondents said:

As a millenial, I basically try to say whatever people expect me to so that I’ll make it into the executive summary document. I’m fairly happy with how it’s working out right now.

However, older voters were less cooperative:

So you called. I answered. 3 Words: Jeopardy starts now!

Future surveys will begin with a glance at TV Guide as soon as we find a copy in print.

--

--

Mark C. Marino
The Trumpet-Blow Institute

writer/researcher of emerging digital writing forms. Prof of Writing @ USC, Dir. of Com. for ELO, Dir. of HaCCS Lab