Shruthi Suresh
The truth about this Indian single mum
1 min readJun 12, 2018

--

Like Dr Strange, I didn’t recognize life outside of my profession Medicine, until my metaphorical car crash. I hit rockbottom when I was dragged through family court for divorce.

I haven’t looked back since.

Seeking a space for myself to heal, to grow, to learn, I experimented with yoga, Vipassana meditation, dancing, adult colouring books and writing.

Moving from the headspace of victim to warrior

Single and proud as I am, I owe my sanity to a circle of resilient women (and men) who showed me the glorious possibilites of life as a newly-minted singleton. Inspired by the ancient indigenous ritual of Sun Dance, my friends and I co-founded a support group for people like us — single parents, divorcees and widow(er)s. We call ourselves the SunDancers.

So, who am I? Single mother. Doctor. Dreamer.

This is my story.

--

--

Shruthi Suresh
The truth about this Indian single mum

Professional/single mother who discovered that hitting rock bottom can be instructive.