Shruthi Suresh
The truth about this Indian single mum
2 min readJun 12, 2018

--

LIFE : Doodle. Dream. Repeat.

My writing journey began when my marriage went kersplat. As a doctor and full-time mother, I did not have the luxury of being able to scream or cry or vent.

So I wrote.

I NaNoWriMoed (nanowrimo.org) . And when November ended, I still wanted to write.

Novel in November, anyone?

A fellow single mum arm-wrestled me into a writing workshop. I attended the 12 weeks Bangalore’s World Famous Semi Deluxe Writers Workshop where I was fortunate to be mentored by Eshwar Sundaresan, Anjum Hassan and Zac O’Yeah, among many other talented writers. I was hooked. http://shoonyaspace.com/event/bangalores-world-famous-semi- deluxe-writing-course/

A synopsis of a novel I almost wrote even got waitlisted for Bangalore LitFest, 2017.

But writing was still difficult, and always painful.

The nail on my “I hate writing” coffin came when I spent two magical weeks at the DumPukht workshop in Pondicherry (2017) with maestros Anil Menon, Pervin Saket and Akshat Nigam. That’s when I found my tribe. http://dumpukht.org/

Since then I have been on a fervent quest to simply keep writing.

Which brings me to this blog.

--

--

Shruthi Suresh
The truth about this Indian single mum

Professional/single mother who discovered that hitting rock bottom can be instructive.