Blinding (in)sights

One’s body responds as a warning of some internal imbalance, urging to return to a state of love and harmony. Understanding the source of the problem is likely to be an unsettling journey.

Diana Santos
THE TURNING POINT

--

Photo by Motoki Tonn on Unsplash

I thought it was just another minor, insistent conjunctivitis.

The redness in my eyes did not go away after a few days, so my husband advised me to see an ophthalmologist. The diagnosis was quick and precise: a progressing eye ulcer. I was lucky that the cornea was still unharmed, and the treatment could get immediately started.

After leaving the doctor’s office, I took some time to face these mixed feelings. On the one hand, the extension of the issue concerned me and confronted me with the fact that ultimately I’m vulnerable as a human being. On the other hand, I felt grateful to discover the problem on time.

My eyes were severely hurting, and the light was unbearable. Facing the screen monitor to manage small tasks such as writing an email became impossible. Keeping the eyelids down and still was the only comfort I could find. As I went to bed that night, I closed my eyes in the silent dark and asked myself:

Why — why am I experiencing this episode? What is my body trying to tell me?

--

--

Diana Santos
THE TURNING POINT

Product Strategist and UX Designer. Poet, writer, woman, mother. Seeker and learner, passionate about the strength of intent and the power of action.