Do You Ever Feel Like You Found Your “Jam” Too Late In Life?

It’s hard to explain how I lived my life before I found what I did

Chris Freyler
THE TURNING POINT

--

Photo by Sammy Williams on Unsplash

I started working at a very young age, 12 years old. I would skateboard to my cousin’s house and help with his cheesecake business. I was always money hungry as a kid. Looking back, it probably had to do with there being almost always a struggle with finances in our household. My Dad was generally working two jobs or getting laid off from one. He and my Mom would work opposite shifts, so someone was home with us.

My grandma lived next door, and that would help at times. But from what I was told growing up, she was quite the alcoholic. I don’t remember her drinking, and she quit before I had any memories.

I was your typical kid. I wanted to be a firefighter, then a police officer growing up. That’s until I found out I could draw. Then I wanted to be a commercial artist, I didn’t even know what it was, but it sounded fantastic! I also loved to write when I was younger but never pursued it.

My childhood consisted of a lot of verbal and physical abuse. I was an anxious kid with a slight stutter I grew out of eventually.

I’m not sure why some kids come from abusive backgrounds and succeed in a career, but I never did, well, at least I…

--

--

Chris Freyler
THE TURNING POINT

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.