From a Devoted Church-Goer to an Agnostic

I left the religion that used to be my lifeline — because of new information that gradually changed my perspective

Mark Chu
THE TURNING POINT

--

Photo by John Price on Unsplash

Getting Baptized

When my mom gave birth to me, she was 11 days short of her 19th birthday. She was a kid herself.

A few years later, she met some young missionaries from America. They volunteered to preach the gospel for the church without pay for 2 years when they turned 19. These boys were (still are) very, very popular among girls/women in Taiwan. In fact, in our mind, people who speak English are better humans; if they’re White, especially from America, they’re put on a pedestal and worshipped.

She got baptized right away, though I’m not sure for the right reason. Few members join for the right reason anyway. For a short period, she brought me to church, and even gave a talk or two to bear her testimony. But very soon, I guess she got bored; maybe the handsome missionaries she liked finished their mission and went home. She stopped going to church.

When I turned 8, my mom suddenly told me I needed to get baptized.

“What now?” I had no idea what that meant.

--

--

Mark Chu
THE TURNING POINT

I’m a professor of psychology at a small university in southern New Mexico. I like playing musical instruments, basketball, and writing stories.