I Finally Lost Myself in a Positive Way

Reading was once the joy of my life and I’m trying to regain that back!

Felishia La-Shae
THE TURNING POINT

--

Photo by Laura Kapfer on Unsplash

Fact! — I own over 200 books. They are a collection of books that I have bought and been gifted over the course of my life. They are the first item I pack when I move and the first item that goes up (besides the bookshelf) when I move into a new place.

My books are a collection of worlds that I can so choose to get lost in anytime that I want. I cherish them. I protect them and most of all, I love them.

I was the teenager that disappeared into a book. I remember my nana clapping and snapping her fingers at me to bring me back to reality. She would always make jokes about someone kidnapping me and how I would never know.

Becoming an adult was a real slap in the face for me. I started realizing that a lot of the world lacked dreamers. It lacked people who would get lost in the clouds or the beauty of a nice breeze and blue skies. I conformed. I went to work and did my adult job, paid my adult bills, and then existed. That was it.

I recently gained back my creative spirit and boy, has it been a breath of fresh air. Last night was special, though. Last night I opened a book. In a short bit of time, I got lost for the first time in almost a decade. Everything froze around me and I just existed in the story.

It’s funny how we lose ourselves to find ourselves sometimes. Maybe I just have strange wording and phrasing. I don’t know. I’m just happy that I finally lost myself in a new world.

--

--

Felishia La-Shae
THE TURNING POINT

Writer, Dreamer, Creator. Navigating life one sentence at a time.