I Left My High-Paying Consulting Job to Be Location-Independent

It was a painful journey of self-discovery and conquering fears, but it was all worth it.

Natalya Permyakova
THE TURNING POINT

--

Natalya Permyakova, Photo by Kat Lopes Pascoal

The turning point

I woke up in cold sweats in the middle of the night with a clear thought: ‘I’ve got to quit my job and move out of London’. That was my turning point.

I’ve always been very ambitious and achieved everything I put my mind to. When you are born in a small city in Russia, an international career is not something on the cards; you must work hard for it. And I did.

It took me 10 years to get the job of my dreams. I was a management consultant at a large firm in London, advising the CEOs of Fortune 500 on strategy and innovation.

I had interesting projects, a great paycheck, worked with smart people and traveled the world. Every 6 weeks, I had a new team, a new client, and a new problem to work on. Edinburgh, Milan, Berlin, London… all in one week! Sounds like a dream, right?

It was until I lost my sleep and couldn’t function anymore. It was burnout. The dangerous thing about burnout is that it’s very hard to notice when you are in the moment. I was so consumed with my day to day, that I ignored all the warning signs.

--

--

Natalya Permyakova
THE TURNING POINT

Entrepreneur, writer, founder of mylifequest.io. I write about designing and living life on your terms.