Reflections Of An Alcoholic Returning Home

A reminiscence on life after rehab, striving for recovery and fortitude.

James Gordon
THE TURNING POINT

--

Photo by Patricia Zavala on Unsplash

A month has passed, since a seizure landed me on the floor of the courthouse entryway. Its cause was alcohol withdrawal, intensified by psychiatric medications I take for my mental illness.

I was on the way to seeing my probation officer. Mental health court is a blessing for me — I could’ve been sent to prison. I didn’t commit the crimes I was accused of, but others can’t always see that.

I pull away from the recovery center, and the picturesque Pacific Northwest countryside overtakes my vision like a dreamscape.

This was my only Christmas spent inside an institution. It’s a new year now, and my resolution is to stay sober. I don’t yet realize how fragile I am, how much I will continue to struggle. I’m in my late twenties, cocooned like a larva in time.

The dusty studio apartment I call home waits for me. As I walk through the door, I think I can make out the faint smell of alcohol.

My name’s James, and I’m an alcoholic. The familiar line that has become the caricature of media-portrayed addiction escapes my lips. I feel like a walking stereotype speaking it. But say it I do, and it sinks into my identity.

--

--

James Gordon
THE TURNING POINT

Digital marketing professional, musician, and blogger, with a wife who works in tech, and a three year-old son.