Should You Fight for Love or Let it Go?

Jason Henry
THE TURNING POINT
Published in
5 min readJul 18, 2021

--

Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

One of my ex-girlfriends got married recently. Naturally, this caused the people closest to us both to wonder if I was okay. I totally understand why they’d ask. After all, I thought it’d be me she would marry.

But once the breakup happened, then some years passed and then she started a long-term relationship. She seemed to be in a good place while I was still navigating some tricky subconscious waters.

However, everyone’s concerns got me thinking. What would’ve happened if I fought for the relationship? Or would it have been more appropriate to follow the famous saying, “If you love someone, let them go?”

Maybe you also had this dilemma or you’re going through it right now. Hopefully I can shed some light on both sides of the argument and help in your own decisions.

Fighting for Love

I had actually fought for this relationship once before. When we were first together, immaturity got the better of me and I ended things. Her importance in my life was never questioned so when I saw the opportunity for a fresh start, I did what I could.

Initially, she didn’t have much interest and wanted to remain friends but I was persistent. I couldn’t take no for an answer because I believed I had a duty to restore what I had broken. But there was another…

--

--

Jason Henry
THE TURNING POINT

Former Edu. Psychologist | Current Writer | Constant Learner | “By your stumbling the world is perfected.”