The Girl I Once Was

I will always cherish every part of myself, BUT I will move forward without looking back

Felishia La-Shae
THE TURNING POINT

--

Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

Hi! I recently hit 300 followers. Yippee! I am so thankful for each and every person that took the time to follow me and check out my content. The support from the Medium community truly is amazing.

The girl I once was moved through the world with her eyes pointing at the ground. She feared making eye contact and wanted nothing to do with social interaction. She was ashamed to see people in her local stores from her past. She didn’t want them to discover that she had done nothing with her life. She truly thought that her life was a massive failure.

You see, most of the world puts a time limit on success. They tend to tell themselves that they have until a certain age to be successful. As each year passes, they get sadder and sadder because they haven’t accomplished what they had in mind.

I’m here to tell you that I was that person 2 years ago. For some reason, if I didn’t lose weight, get a degree, start my writing career, meet someone, get married, have kids, and everything else under the sun before I was 30, it was over. My life was over and I had failed at being a human.

As humans, we have our entire lives to make different choices. We are given paths to…

--

--

Felishia La-Shae
THE TURNING POINT

Writer, Dreamer, Creator. Navigating life one sentence at a time.