Writing Success Often Comes from Having the Right Attitude

Control Your Attitude and Control Your Destiny

--

Let me tell you a short story about how I grew up. My father was a guy with an explosive temperament; he was deeply emotional and often unpredictable.

I never knew what to expect from him. He could be a happy, fun person to be around, or he could be the guy who is cursing and throwing the living room furniture out of the sliding glass door in a fit of anger.

He was the dad that pulled me out of school, drove to Las Vegas, and gave me $20 to go eat dinner and a hotel room key, then went out to gamble until 6a.m., trusting that my little brother and I would be able to navigate the busy strip safely on our own.

But a week later, he was also the guy who would expect straight A-grades on a report card.

He had huge dreams about becoming successful at something — he didn’t know what.

He had been infatuated with John F. Kennedy’s America and the possibilities that this country offered its citizens and the world. That was the reason he moved to this country. Without planning, as a young 22 year-old, he dropped out of college in Argentina and moved to New York. He was ready for success, or so he thought.

--

--