An Eviction Letter To The Cavity In My Heart

Rubie Miseda
The Turquoise Paper
2 min readJul 22, 2018

--

I approach you to day to express my deepest regards to your new eviction. For years you have been a tenant in my heart paying rent through your decaying possessions. These decaying belongings were seen as broken words and beliefs that governed my income for the longest. Blocked by my clouded judgment I was led to believe that this was the rightful way to live. For the longest I relied so much on your payments to feed my soul and my mind. Driven by the catalyst of my false judgment, the decay feed into my heart causing it to rot deeply and slowly. Therefore, leaving me in pain and agony.

Lost by the income I earned from you, my heart started to grow heavy, with echoes of the poisons created by your payments. I was stuck and I couldn’t breathe. The breath that I held inside was barely enough to save the constant pumps of blood from my rotting heart. I decided to scream and cry for help. I need a new healling for the feelings of anger, guilt, envy and revenge that i felt. I was so lost I couldn’t find the root to my evolving pain. Then, a thought occurred to me that the cure to my healing was to evict you out of my house.

--

--

Rubie Miseda
The Turquoise Paper

I’m a explorer of words looking for a script to share my stories about being an African woman in an African world.