Photo by Kunj Parekh on Unsplash

The Battle Of The Mind

Rubie Miseda
The Turquoise Paper
3 min readApr 11, 2018

--

My mind is the most powerful tool given to me and it decided to go to war. This war has been rehearsed numerous amount of times in my head. The development of the war began with my emotions and my soul. My heart was the commandeering chief that brought disparity between my soul and my emotions.

Retaliation had been built through the entertainment and pleasure of war. A pleasure I solemnly found myself being the only one interested in. This could be related to factors underlining my repressed un-pleasure of a compulsive addiction to turmoil. Within this context, peace became a factor of my mental architecture, in which I found myself lost in an illusion of war.

The war began through a thoughtful expression of assumption and superstition. My heart the commandeering chief lived on assumption and gave birth to superstition. Superstition, the child of war, became dependent on me since it was conceived. However, my dear child born of my guilt, worry and fear left a huge burden for me to carry in the battle field. This burden was her birth right. I, the mother of the child had conceived her in a lime light of trouble and confusion, with only the world to watch.

My form of perception can be hypothetically identified with life and transitional growth of my mental maturity to the world, in which I was living in. Lost in my ways of conscious thought, my unconscious mind built a rehearsal of the war, in which I danced a pleasurable dream of turmoil. The pleasure contrasted around it, brought a sense of control and freedom for my will to be fulfilled. My beauty through conception built an alter-ego in which I was the master of my venomous desire.

Being the master gave me a desirable world in which I left my reality and excluded it from my conscious mind. The repression gave me a key to unlock the door to my wishes, allowing it to come alive in a form of a battle field. This war was only a shadow in which I created for me. A dark shadow of desirable dreams and strength in which I could be free from the underling factors attached to my reality.

Trapped in this illusion, the darkness gave me the strength to drift from battle after battle, making me an addict to my drifting mental nature. The nature lasted for so long that when the light knocked on my door, all I saw was a shadow of dark clouds hiding the light flickering inside me. This light was life inside the vessel that I was breathing in, a vessel that was solemnly given to by a higher force.

But due to the birth of my superstition and assumption, I was blinded by my rituals. These rituals are the superstition created by the war within. Therefore, my understanding was clouded within blind sight. I had become a blind individual in the flesh, mind and soul, yet I could see with my physical eye. But when the brightness came into my life, the light around me flickered so bright, that the darkness surrounding it withered away like a slow death.

--

--

Rubie Miseda
The Turquoise Paper

I’m a explorer of words looking for a script to share my stories about being an African woman in an African world.