The End Of My Story

Rubie Miseda
The Turquoise Paper
1 min readAug 23, 2018

For so many years you were the hero and the big bad wolf of my story. My story couldn’t thrive without you being in it. I searched for other cast members, but i kept on finding my way back to you. I was so smittened by the illusion that you played in my story. I thought by replacing your role, my story would turn from a fantasy into a romantic tale. But, i guess i was wrong. The day i first met you, to the day i last saw you i realised that i had developed a unhealthy bond with you. This bond kept my delusional ideas exciting and full of drama to fuel the thoughts of having you in my mind. But, one day the universe a woke me from my sleeping beauty coma, and that was when i realised that i was in a Disney fantasy. So i guess i broke my own curse with a kiss of enlightenment. An enlightenment that changed and ended the course of my story. It was painful but gradually I became brave to let go of my Disney story. There after I became the brave heart of my new beginning.

--

--

Rubie Miseda
The Turquoise Paper

I’m a explorer of words looking for a script to share my stories about being an African woman in an African world.