Meet the Team — February 2016

A year ago, we put out a call for technologists to come serve their country. Since then, we’ve seen thousands of applications and stories about why people want to come fix some of the most challenging problems facing citizens today. We believe that technology alone doesn’t change the status quo — people do — so we’re excited to highlight some of the new faces that have joined our team. Stay tuned: each month, we’ll share stories of our newest recruits!

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service
6 min readFeb 23, 2016

--

Shauni Deshmukh, Engineer

I’m a software engineer with a background in web systems, APIs, and analytics. Previously, I was an engineer at Twitter Boston working on the TV & Video team. My first project at USDS was HealthCare.gov, where I worked to keep the site up and running smoothly throughout open enrollment. Now, I’m working with the team at the Department of Education.

What’s been the most surprising thing about working here?
Definitely the people! And I mean that in the best way. I’ve worked with a lot of smart engineers in the past, but my coworkers at USDS are not only smart, but some of the most thoughtful and kind individuals I know. I’ll be honest — this is the hardest job I’ve ever had. There’s often uncertainty, ambiguity, and resistance to change; it can get very frustrating. On top of that, I’m new to D.C. and living far away from my family. Having a supportive team makes a huge difference. I’m constantly learning from them, getting inspiration, and having a lot of fun.

What’s one lesson you’ve learned?
Things that don’t seem like technology problems are totally technology problems! Before I started here, I didn’t think I could make any sort of systemic change, because I’m not a policy person. Once I got here, I realized that while government services seem opaque to folks on the outside, on the inside, there are a lot of moving parts that you have to consider. Once a policy is passed, technology decisions can make or break whether a piece of legislation realizes its goal. Those intervention points are where we can be most useful and can be the difference between thousands (or even millions) of people getting access to a key service they need to live.

Andres Perez Colon, Developer

I’m a full-stack developer from the beautiful island of Puerto Rico, where I’ve worked in the public and private sector building modern digital services, promoting policy, civic-hacking initiatives and helping transform and modernize IT services. I’ve worked on criminal background check technology, a digital service for requesting certificates of good behavior, citizen identity validation, crime data APIs, legislative tracking tools & services, and the implementation of the first government-wide code-reuse and open data initiatives.

What are you working on at USDS?

The federal government spends between $450 to $500 billion annually, making it the largest procurer of goods and services in the world. For small businesses, getting a fair share of government contracts can have a big economic impact. The Small Business Administration (SBA) is the government agency that supports small businesses by helping them achieve certifications to access federal contracting opportunities and also aids entrepreneurs with access to capital and disaster assistance. As the Digital Service Lead at the SBA , I’m helping the agency deliver modern and scalable digital services that serve the needs of small businesses. Our team is successfully and incrementally delivering by incorporating strategies that are new for the agency, such as using the cloud, modern and open source technologies, automation, agile and iterative processes and user centered design.

Coming from a similar environment in Puerto Rico, what has surprised you the most about your experience here thus far?

I’ve spent over ten years as a public servant — one thing I’ve focused on is finding self-motivated people who want to work together to change lives. When I joined the U.S. Digital Service, I was astounded to find so many like-minded, passionate and talented public servants with such a laser-focus on delivery. I’m constantly blown away by the quality of the people I meet, their ability to overcome challenges, their willingness to share experiences and their ability for self-reflection, which I think is a trait that allows USDS to continuously iterate and learn as we deliver.

Sabrina Williams, Engineer

I’m a software engineer who came to government from Google in Mountain View, specializing in developer productivity and code health. Last September, the Department of Education launched College Scorecard, a tool that helps students, families, and guidance counselors make one of the most important financial decisions of their lifetimes: where to go to college.

As a private sector transplant, what do you think has been most surprising about your time here so far?

The scale of the federal government. We’re all aware that there are lots of people working in these different agencies, and using various systems. What didn’t really sink in until I got here was how large of an organization the federal government is, and how complex the systems we are dealing with actually are. The government’s audience is the American people; there are regulations and rules that affect the way services are delivered, how systems communicate with each other, and all of that affects the technology that underlies these systems. I have a whole new level of respect for the career federal employees who come in every day for 30 plus years and try to fight the good fight within this massive machine and get so little credit for it.

What’s one piece of advice you’d have for someone who wants to come work here?

Be prepared for anything. You never know what you’re going to get asked to do, who you’re going to get to meet, or what kind of problem you’re going to have to solve. Some solutions will involve coding while others will involve memos. You really just never know what’s going to happen, so you’ve got to be up for an adventure!

Kelly Minton, Talent

I came to the federal government from eBay, where I led CIO Communications, Culture and Engagement. In my previous roles, I’ve worked in leadership roles to build and maintain a diverse workforce.

What brought you to the U.S. Digital Service?

I would say it was the opportunity to help millions of Americas by creating simple, value-add, user-friendly technology.

What will you be working on?

I’ll be helping to build and develop a diverse, talented and engaged team who has the ability to positively impact our country — and the world!

What are you most excited for this year?

I’m excited and grateful for the opportunity to help my country using my professional skills and unique background. I’m also extremely excited to be solving large-scale problems with some of the most brilliant and compassionate people in technology!

You could be one of these awesome public servants too.

If you want to get involved, send us a note at @USDS — we can’t wait to hear from you!

--

--

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service

The U.S. Digital Service is a group of mission-driven professionals who are passionate about delivering better government services to the public.