Meet the Team: Spring 2021

People join USDS from tech communities across the country to do the greatest good, for the greatest number of people, in the greatest need.

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service
8 min readApr 22, 2021

--

When you join USDS, you become part of a community that extends to life after your tour of duty. Since we were founded by the President in 2014, over 500 people have served, modernizing government, shifting culture, and showing what’s possible. Technologists from across the country, representing diverse communities, skillsets, and backgrounds are joining USDS because of our mission. And this year we’ve been able to bring on more new team members than ever before.

This spring, folks are joining to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, improve hiring processes for technologists across government, support communities most impacted by environmental injustice, and so much more. Meet the newest members of the U.S. Digital Service family — recruited from tech communities across the country, from San Diego to Brooklyn.

Fátima Terry (she/her/ella), Talent Management @ USDS HQ. Currently in Washington, DC.

Prior to joining USDS I gained a decade of educational and professional experience understanding how to assess and improve the health of organizations and its employees. This career path enabled me to become an organizational and workforce development subject matter expert with a specialized focus in both the technology and federal sectors. Fast forward to 2021, I’m honored to join the amazing USDS Talent team and will aim to partner with all our accomplished employees for continuing the development of equitable systems, processes, workforce programs and initiatives, and anything else under the sun that empowers the professional success of each worker.

What is your current state of mind?

I feel like a Buddhist monk in deep meditation when I start thinking about this question ha! My immediate current state is preparing for motherhood. My husband and I are very, very blessed to be welcoming our first child in July. With all the “parenting-feels” excitement, we have also been preparing how we want to approach parenting and what type of relationship we want to build with our future child. So needless to say lots of hard work is being done behind the scenes for our newest and most precious family addition. My long-term state of mind is continuously revisiting what is the message of my life’s work and how to align my current environment to meet that message. As an immigrant born in Peru, the first woman in my family to receive an advanced degree in the U.S., and the first or only Latina woman “in the room,” let’s just say I’m not new to breaking barriers. My sweat, tears, and perseverance are all to lay the foundation for more marginalized populations, minorities and future leaders, particularly young girls, to see and actually build their own professional success despite societal or institutionalized adversities.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

Efficiency, empowerment, and success. Have you noticed yet? I’m going to backtrack a little. Apart from my day job, my “side” roles are volunteering on two wonderful executive boards with the goal of contributing ideas or initiatives that enable the audiences they serve to discover something new, network, and gain some kind of personal or professional development knowledge. The United Women in Business (UWIB) is a 501(c)(3) that focuses on elevating and empowering women and the Latinos in Industrial-Organizational Psychology (LIOP) is a newly formed member-based group that is impacting the U.S. talent pipeline across I-O careers by empowering and connecting Latinx students and professionals together. Needless to say these three words are always top of mind for me as I continue my contributions and support to others.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

My greatest achievement to date was being a co-lead contributor to the 2018 U.S. “Strategy For American Leadership In Advanced Manufacturing.” This bi-partisan effort led by the National Science & Technology Council was a culmination of very hard work and diverse expertise in the advanced manufacturing area. Even as a contractor, I was honored to represent the Department of Defense as their workforce development subject matter expert. In partnership with assigned contributors across the Department of Education, Labor, NSF, and other organizations, we crafted Goal 2: Educate, Train, and Connect the Manufacturing Workforce. I’ll never forget this experience and am immensely grateful to the team and the leadership who provided me the unique opportunity to shape a four-year U.S. national strategy.

Jeremy Zitomer (he/they), Engineer @ USDS HQ working with the CDC. Previously, Bloomberg. Coming from Brooklyn, NY, born in Goldens Bridge, NY.

At USDS, I’m helping to build a COVID test reporting pipeline that connects schools, nursing homes, prisons and other nontraditional testing sites with public health officials at all levels, to enable better, faster contact tracing and a more equitable pandemic response. I’ve also done a discovery sprint aimed at updating government forms to capture sexual orientation and gender identity data in a way that is respectful, accurate, secure, and helpful. Promoting equity is my North Star in all the work that I do, and I’m thrilled that I get to live that out every day at USDS.

Prior to USDS, I was building tools for ethical investors to assess the environmental, social, and governance profiles of companies before making investment decisions. But ultimately, I realized I could have a much bigger impact and do more expansive work in the public sector, and USDS was the perfect fit!

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

There’s no word for this, but people who create and reinforce hierarchies — whether that’s based in a physical attribute, where you come from, or what your abilities are. I think so much of the pain in the world is due to arbitrary hierarchies people have forced on others just to feel a sense of stability for themselves.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I wish I could be more resilient in the face of disagreement or criticism. I’m very outspoken, but often don’t prepare myself well for the possibility that people will dislike what I put forward. My therapist and I are working on it 😉

When and where were you happiest?

Here’s a moment that comes pretty close — the 2019 New York City marathon. You might assume I was running. Wrong! I was on the sidelines, in bright neon clothes, dancing and waving ridiculous signs aimed at making the runners laugh as they passed by. I was surrounded by friends, giving out high fives to strangers as I cheered them on. I shouted until my voice was gone, then kept going.

Kameron Kerger (she/her), Designer @ USDS HQ. Previously at Amazon’s Sustainability team. From San Diego, California.

I am an experience researcher and designer with the U.S. Digital Service, a non-partisan startup at the White House. Recently I was able to engaged with Amazon’s sustainability team to conceptualize and study different ways to encourage customers to make more sustainable choices while shopping online. I’ve spent the last 14 years at Qualcomm creating innovative mobile experiences and hold over 100 patents in multiple areas such as social networking, group communications, algorithmic matching, interface innovations, and more. I’m passionate about shaping products and services to be more equitable and accessible for all. At USDS I am bringing those passions and experiences to the Justice40 initiative which will soon be directing 40% of the benefits of Just Transition investments to communities that have been historically underserved and systemically overburdened through the use of a Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool.

What’s your idea of perfect happiness?

My idea of perfect happiness is sitting on the beach on a tiny Island eating a delicious Greek salad with a glass of wine with friends after spending the morning floating in the ocean. This dream came true here.

What’s your favorite occupation?

My favorite occupation would have to be the one I have now. Having an opportunity to work with great people to help make government services work better for the American people is another dream come true. I’m proud to be able to say that I get up every day and go to where the work that will help the greatest number of people with the greatest need is.

What is your motto?

My motto is to not have a motto. Why limit your possibilities?

Vincent La (he/him), Product @ USDS HQ. Previously RegLab (Stanford Law School), Clover Health, Federal Reserve Board. Originally from New Jersey.

I started my career as a federal employee at the Federal Reserve Board where I was an economics research assistant within the Flow of Funds section. I then spent almost 5 years in the healthcare space working as a data scientist at a Medicare Advantage Company, Clover Health. During this time, I grew passionate about Civic Tech, co-leading the Data Science Working Group with the Code for San Francisco Brigade of Code for America. I then joined an applied Artificial Intelligence and Policy lab called RegLab based within Stanford Law School where we partnered with federal, state, and local government agencies to implement machine learning solutions and evaluate impact on governance/compliance/regulation outcomes. At USDS, I’ve worked on COVID related projects, helped provide broadband access via the Emergency Broadband Benefit Program at FCC, and will be working on projects related to immigration at the Southern Border.

Which talent would you most like to have?

Know lots of languages and being a good singer (both of which I am terrible at)!

What is your perfect idea of happiness?

Eating peanut butter ice cream!

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

My significant other, Helen Hou!

The best of technology.
The best of government.
And we want you.

We’re looking for the most tenacious designers, software engineers, product managers, and more, who are committed to untangling, rewiring and redesigning critical government services. You’ll join a team of the most talented technologists from across the private sector and government.
If you have questions regarding employment with the U.S. Digital Service, please contact us at usds@omb.eop.gov or visit our Hiring FAQ.

Join the U.S. Digital Service | Follow us on Twitter | Visit our Site | GitHub | Follow us on Instagram | Like us on Facebook

--

--

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service

The U.S. Digital Service is a group of mission-driven professionals who are passionate about delivering better government services to the public.