Why We Serve: Glennette Clark

In this series you’ll hear stories from USDSers and learn why they decided to join, why they stay, and how their work is making an impact for all Americans.

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service
3 min readOct 13, 2020

--

Glennette with her son Jaren.

Glennette Clark (she/ her), Design Researcher at DHS Digital Service. Previously contractor at Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. From Elizabeth City, NC.

What’s your background?

My first years after college were spent as an intern at teacher’s union, a desktop publisher for a science education publisher and marketing assistant at an international charity. I have a degree in Journalism and an MBA in Strategic Design. I started UXCamp DC in 1990 which won the “Talent Cultivator” award from TechWeek100.

I have always been an advocate for diversity and inclusion in technology. I’ve spoken at SXSW and other events on the need for representation.

What inspired you to join USDS?

In 2015, I read the article in Fast Company about Obama’s “stealth startup.” I was awestruck. I wanted to have a similar impact on other areas of the government. But as I looked at the pictures and read about the some of the people on this “unnamed” team and I didn’t see myself. However, I knew that I wanted to be a part of something big and have an impact.

I went back and forth over whether to apply to USDS for four years. Attended recruiting roundtables, talked to current and former USDSers, and checked the web site regularly. I felt that I had to be the change that I wanted to see in the world.

I had to take a leap of faith and take my shot. You always miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.

How does your work or the work of USDS make an impact?

We often refer to the government as a monolith that hard to overcome and understand. As a designer, we use human-centered design to breakdown the monolith into smaller pieces so that we can address the needs of the people. We advocate talking to people about how different government agencies can best serve their needs.

I’m working on an interagency task force project that could reshape the thinking and attitudes around trauma and trauma-informed care. This work could impact how policies are written, grant funding is awarded, services are provided, and, most importantly, the way people who are experiencing or have experienced trauma are treated.

What do you want to do after USDS?

Digital service design is very important to me. I’ve seen first-hand what USDS has done for the federal government. I’d like to bring that same energy to DC. I’ve lived in DC for a long time. For the past five or so years, they’ve tried to make DC a tech hub. I’d love to revive the effort and start a DC Digital Service.

What will you miss most about USDS when you leave?

I will miss the people. I have never been in an organization where the people have been so supportive and genuinely take an interest in your well-being. It will be hard to leave.

The best of technology.
The best of government.
And we want you.

We’re looking for the most tenacious designers, software engineers, product managers, and more, who are committed to untangling, rewiring and redesigning critical government services. You’ll join a team of the most talented technologists from across the private sector and government.
If you have questions regarding employment with the U.S. Digital Service, please contact us at usds@omb.eop.gov and visit usds.gov/apply.

--

--

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service

The U.S. Digital Service is a group of mission-driven professionals who are passionate about delivering better government services to the public.