Why We Serve: Pete Waterman

In this series you’ll hear stories from USDSers and learn why they decided to join, why they stay, and how their work is making an impact for all Americans.

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service
4 min readApr 28, 2021

--

Pete in his happy place, on a motorcycle riding somewhere gnarly.

Pete Waterman (he/him), Acting Chief Information Security Officer @ Office of Management & Budget, but normally an engineer @ USDS HQ.

What inspired you to join USDS?

Her name was Laura and she was a scientist who came to DC via the American Association for the Advancement of Science to contribute to federal policy making while learning firsthand about the intersection of science and policy. We met on-line and a few dates later she introduced me to some of her friends who were all these PhD wielding super scientists that also rolled into DC as AAAS Fellows to do stints in government.

I thought this was a pretty cool concept, bringing in highly qualified outside experts to join the government short term, if only there was something like that for folks like me — I mean, I barely made it a semester at university before dropping out, but I do have an awful lot of real world technology experience… too bad folks like me couldn’t get “fellowships” and join the government for a bit, right?

Then of course the epidemiologist/bio weapons expert best friend who I clearly needed a thumbs up from in order to get another date just casually throws out “I think there is!” and yep we google it and there was, except, lol, no, I wasn’t going to actually do that, leave my startup gig to work for the government? The idea was fun, but the reality? Hard pass.

Three dates became ten dates, ten dates became… well, I stopped keeping track, but I kept spending time with her and her friends and their stories were always so much more interesting than mine. They weren’t about how some new feature made people 3.6% more likely to click on this product, their stories were about things that mattered.

Pete and Laura’s first selfie together at Great Basin National Park!

I started reading everything I could find about the U.S. Digital Service until it stopped being a curiosity and started being something I wanted to do seriously enough to quit that startup job and apply (Laura would probably tell you she wished I hadn’t done it in that order though).

A sticky note tale of Pete’s early USDS journey.

What are you working on right now and how does it help people?

I just started a temporary assignment to the Office of Management and Budget (where USDS lives) to work with the IT leadership team. I won’t be working on USDS projects directly until my return to normal duty when this “detail” ends, but I’m excited about what I’m going to learn and how this experience can help me support everyone at USDS.

One of the most difficult things for folks who start at USDS is coming to grips with the regulatory, security, privacy, and compliance rules that constrain our ability to deliver solutions in government. They seem unnecessarily complicated, burdensome, or in some cases downright silly… but they’re mostly there for good reasons and they can’t all be swept aside. The real question is how can we work better within those constraints to leverage and use tools and networks and systems that weren’t even conceived when those rules were created?

Selfie at the USDS 5th Anniversary party!

Most of the folks at USDS are working on big impact projects that reach across government and I’m already a little jealous of some of the new projects popping up — but what I’m working on right now, if I do a good job, learn some things, support my partners, and focus on the big picture? I’ll be helping the people who help the people. It’s not as shiny, but it’s important work.

What has been the biggest challenge during your service?

Records management.

Sure, we don’t want folks working in the Executive Office of the President using secret encrypted apps to do dodgy stuff under virtual tables in dark rooms, but I just want to run a retro with my team about how the last sprint went, you know?

The best of technology.
The best of government.
And we want you.

We’re looking for the most tenacious designers, software engineers, product managers, and more, who are committed to untangling, rewiring and redesigning critical government services. You’ll join a team of the most talented technologists from across the private sector and government.
If you have questions regarding employment with the U.S. Digital Service, please contact us at usds@omb.eop.gov or visit our Hiring FAQ.

Join the U.S. Digital Service | Follow us on Twitter | Visit our Site | GitHub | Follow us on Instagram | Like us on Facebook

--

--

United States Digital Service
U.S. Digital Service

The U.S. Digital Service is a group of mission-driven professionals who are passionate about delivering better government services to the public.