Street Photography: Week 10

Kiki
The Ugly Stuff
Published in
3 min readOct 28, 2020

Returning to a place with so many memories has been a dream come true and a sobering reminder that I am no longer the kid I once was. The memories I have here officially feel like another lifetime ago and the hopeless romantic in me is struggling to adjust. That’s because like a side of ranch, I like my nostalgia with everything. It’s an addiction that in moderation reminds me of the places and people I love, but too much and the present is never good enough. That’s when things go from charming to depressing real quick and the only way to escape it is to create something new.

That was my mentality this week as I tried to avoid the past, just keep creating-even if in the moment I hated what was being made. I have to learn how to live with those feelings of inadequacy if I want to get better at this. I think that’s true for anyone trying to change their current course. It doesn’t matter if it’s good or not right now, because eventually it will be and those feelings will suddenly make sense.

Street photography sometimes feels like I’m chasing a ghost. I still don’t have the guts to be aggressive in those situations when I see something so I’m behind on a lot of shots. I’ve heard that’s normal at the beginning but it doesn’t make it any less frustrating. When that happens I resort to safer situations, which can still be rewarding but will never create an image I think deserves a ton respect. On the brightside I’m finding joy in images I initially glossed over. The first picture of the train station is one of those. It was taken on my way home a couple weeks ago and I rediscovered it during an editing session this weekend. Here’s to many more hidden gems in the future.

Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki

--

--

Kiki
The Ugly Stuff
0 Followers
Editor for

I’m a recovering corporate troll who moved to Chicago to become a photojournalist and street photographer. Follow my story on The Ugly Stuff