Street Photography: Week 7

Kiki
The Ugly Stuff
Published in
3 min readOct 27, 2020

I feel pretty good about this week and I don’t really have anything to show for it besides a couple learning lessons. Still struggling with finding my style or true interests which is making me overthink things. That’s natural probably, at least that’s what I’m telling myself. And it’s still really enjoyable being out there. I’m tapping into a part of my brain that I hadn’t used until now, which is a bizarre and beautiful feeling. Bresson once said you have to be receptive and lucky to take great photos. Nonchalant focus is how I would describe it…it’s like trying your hardest to not be interested in the cutie next to you at the bar. Unfortunately, this leads to a ton of moments throughout the day that I miss read and make worse.

This was the first week while being back in Chicago that I was challenged on a photo I took. It was brief and we both kinda realized there was no harm done and life moved on. I needed that. I need to build up a tolerance for those interactions so I can handle them correctly or avoid them all together. After I shook off the awkwardness I felt more encouraged than anything. In order for me to succeed in this I have to get more gutsy in my picture selection. It takes a thick skin to get close enough for great photos.

Maybe in an attempt to regain control of the day after the altercation before, I asked somebody for a portrait. I’ve had opportunities fall into my lap in the past but I’ve never pulled someone aside to ask them their permission, it’s just not my style, and I don’t think it’s required to get a good photo. That said the man in the suit below was too good to pass up. What’s funny is that I don’t really remember taking the picture. I was so focused on not wasting his time that I didn’t put any effort into the picture. I don’t think either of his pictures are very good. I’m glad I took them, my instinct was right just not the execution. They just don’t have the composition or the x factor needed for everything to come together.

That was the theme this week, I was able to see a few potential shots but couldn’t complete anything. The toddler in the stroller the same thing. I knew that scene had potential with her face hidden and her legs nearly dragging on the ground, but I couldn’t find the angle to make it work. The boat picture is missing a special moment happening on the benches. They’re perfectly lit but they need some life to make the picture interesting. Regardless, here are the few that could have been.

Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki
Chicago street photography by Kiki

--

--

Kiki
The Ugly Stuff
0 Followers
Editor for

I’m a recovering corporate troll who moved to Chicago to become a photojournalist and street photographer. Follow my story on The Ugly Stuff