Project : Qur’an Summary and Journaling

Pink Pastel Studio
The Ummah Cafe
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2020
Photo by pinkpastelstudio (instagram)

I am from a country, where Arabic is not my native language. Throughout my life, I always wanted to understand Qur’an, its meaning and try to implement it in my life as much as I can. Being a vast subject, it may require a life time! Overwhelmed, I searched for resources and a path to ease this journey & make it equally fulfilling. I found some jewels here and there, but couldn’t come upon a single easy source, for someone at my stage.

But the journey had to start somewhere. After spending so much time without starting (& procrastinating), I decided to take the first step, make the procedure simple and journal the complete process. This all became the basis of my Qur’an Journaling Journey.

So what is the process that I would be following? I would be going from Surah to Surah, describing some important data, the major characters discussed therein, theme of the Surah and briefly discussing about the major ideas contained. I am not an expert in Quran, so I would be mostly writing here information from various sources consulted and my own little understanding on the subject, while not giving a detailed explanation of the subjects. This would basically take the shape of a Summary of each Surah, which can be further used to steadily improve knowledge. After going through the short summary, one can start with reading details in translation / tafsir, making it easier to recall and relate to.

So this journaling process would be more suitable for the beginners interested in building a basic knowledge base, to further their Quran Learning Process. This summary should not be taken as a substitute to reading the Quran or its Tafsir and simultaneous reading of Quran / Tafir is STRONGLY recommended with it. Besides, it is also suggested to make notes.

The Qur’an translation that I read and would also recommend is The Qur’an (Oxford World’s Classics) by M.A.S. Abdul Haleem. May Allah guide me on this journey and make it beneficial for everyone. Ameen.

The complete series could be found here.

--

--

Pink Pastel Studio
The Ummah Cafe

Exploring Muslim Productivity & Contemporary Art | Instagram: @pinkpastelstudio