Super Bowl Gambling Advice

Darryn Hobbs
The Unbalanced
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2017
Image Via Wikimedia Commons

Let’s get paid to watch the Super Bowl

Maybe you are just putting a few bucks on a Super Bowl square at your viewing party, or backing up your trash talk with your wallet, or you are betting the farm on the big game. Odds are that you are betting on the Super Bowl in some way, shape, or form. It’s easily the most watched and most bet on sporting event of the year. I’m here to help you beat Vegas and strike it rich this Sunday.

A lot of people will simply put some money down on the spread or the over/under point total. That’s all fine and dandy, but their are tons of fun and interesting prop bets for the Super Bowl. Often times these unique bets offer big payouts simply because they are so narrowly focused, and hard to predict.

I’m going to give you my favorite prop bets as well as who I like to take home the Lumbardi Trophy and whether or not they will cover the spread. I’m also going to put my money where my mouth is and bet on each pick that I tell you to bet on. They are available to bet on at bovada online sports book.

  • Full discloser: I am not a gambling expert. I am confident in my picks and advice, but don’t empty your bank account based on my word.

Okay, now that I’ve covered myself legally, let’s get rich.

I like the Falcons to beat the Patriots straight up, but the fact that they are currently a 3 point underdog is a nice cushion. I highly recommend jumping on that key number of 3 before the line moves and you risk losing the ability to push.

And as has been the case pretty much all season long, if you are betting on Atlanta to win, you are also betting on their offense to hit the over. Right now the over/under is listed at 59.5. I don’t expect to see either punter more than 2 or 3 times all game.

  • You can make money before the game even starts by betting on how long it will take Luke Bryan to sing the National Anthem. Over/Under is set at 2 minutes 9 seconds. I did some film study and Luke has only gone over that mark once since 2008, take the under. If you feel like making things a little more interesting you can bet on whether or not a player will be seen taking a knee during the Anthem on the live TV broadcast, I’m staying away from that one.
  • The celebratory Gatorade bath for the winning coach is tradition, but the question is what color will it be? I’m going with Red +600.
  • Lady Gaga is this year’s halftime show performer. Vegas has odds on her hair color. Will it be blonde or any other color? No chance she goes with something ordinary like blonde. I’ve got the field +250.
  • It doesn’t have to be all about football on Sunday. Which will be higher: Julio Jones receiving yards or Boston Celtics points against the Clippers? I’m still not convinced Julio is human, he’ll have at least 110 receiving yards, but I think Boston will score a bunch to beat Los Angeles. I’m taking the Celtics Points -150.
  • The quarterbacks will be the focus of the game, but will anyone other than Brady or Ryan attempt a pass? Julian Edelman played QB in college and Mohamed Sanu took a snap from shotgun in the NFC Championship game. I say yes, someone else will attempt a pass +250.
  • Finally, who will be the Super Bowl MVP? There are odds for 31 different players between the two teams or you can take the field. I’ve got a gut feeling that Vic Beasley is going to make a huge momentum swinging play that will propel the Falcons to their first ever Super Bowl victory. I’m betting on him to win MVP +5000.

I feel really good about these picks and like I said, I’m going to lay money down on them to make the big game even more interesting than I think it already will be. I’ve got to pay off these student loans somehow, might as well let Vegas cover my tab. Enjoy the game, a few beers, a lot of wings, and make money doing it!

--

--