TJ’s Sports Dad of the Week

TJ Ragusa
The Unbalanced
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2017
image via shortcakelou (WordPress)

Behind every great athlete, there is a great sports dad, coach, mentor, etc. I myself aspire to one day be the kind of dad who raises a low-pad-level fullback/tight end who pushes F-150’s to practice blocking and who I throw bricks at to help develop soft hands. Sports dads are makers of men. They’re the people in our society who teach us the truly valuable lessons in life. Lessons such as “sometimes your best isn’t good enough,” “not everyone gets a trophy,” “life is about being better than everyone else,” and my personal favorite, “rub some dirt in it and stop being a little bitch.”

Now that we’re running a developing sports media empire, I felt it necessary to somehow honor these heroes of our society. As such, I shall henceforth be naming a “Sports Dad of the Week” every week until the end of this blog or until people stop caring.

This week’s Sports Dad is Scott Bergin, a youth baseball coach from Texas who gave a Kenny Powers-esque pregame speech to his group of rascals. I’ll tell you one thing, if this guy were my coach, he’d have me ready to run through a goddamn wall as soon as he said “We’re here to hit dingers, disgrace the pitcher’s family, make the other players cry and stomp their butts into the ground.” People often forget that coaches are developing our nation’s future. Scott doesn’t forget that. Scott understands that some day, the kids on his team will be the CEO’s at the Fortune 500 companies where the kids who got trophies for coming in 8th place work as dead-end low-level accountants. Have a look at Scott’s riveting pre-game pump-up below.

via Tournament Guy on Facebook

--

--

TJ Ragusa
The Unbalanced

Future PBR-drinking lawn chair dad. Miserable New York Islanders fan. I dish out scalding hot NHL and FBS takes and think the moon is a giant alien spacecraft.