Higher Education is Overrated

jory grace
The Uncommon Opinion 
3 min readJul 29, 2014

--

And Why I’m Not Pursuing “ The American Dream.”

After completing my undergraduate degree in January of 2013, I immediately set out to apply to graduate programs (I really really LOVE school). I had a general idea of what I wanted to do with my life, but nothing that was concrete.

Main area of interest: Social Work. Long story short: I applied, I was accepted, and I enrolled.

After the excitement wore off, the reality of my financial situation weighed down on me like I was giving an elephant a piggy back ride. A few questions popped into my mind: Why do I need to go to school so bad? Why spend two years on a subject that I don’t have direct experience in (I may end up despising it)? When I graduate how much more debt will I be in? Will this hinder pursuing my life goals?

You’re career doesn't need to be what you love doing.

I’ll say that again: you’re career doesn't need to be what you love doing! Seriously! We've been programmed that a happy life means our career is our life long passion. That’s not true. Right now, my passion doesn't pay my bills, maybe someday it will, but I’m content with doing what makes me happy in my spare time. I’m not settling, although some people do settle, but in my case, I’m happy with my set up (the mistake most people make is letting their interests go just because their career doesn't line up with it, don’t do that!).

So, I decided, screw it. I don’t need graduate school to be successful and pursue my interests. I probably shouldn't have gone to undergrad either, but the pressures of society made me believe education was the only way to survive.

The American Dream?

For people who know exactly what they want to do then go to school (junior college, then transfer) do your best, but these days most people attending college should not be there. I have many friends pursuing awesome careers and need school for it, and I completely support them, but it’s not for everyone. If you don’t have a clear direction of where you are going, don’t get in debt working towards an unknown path, where the only certainty is you will be paying your loans. Spend your time and money on something with more results.

I’m very lucky to have a job that allows me to not have to live with my parents and also pays all my expenses. I’m very fortunate to have a job that I enjoy and gives me the freedom to have hobbies and take time off. I wish this for everyone.

I truly feel the pain of those who are going to be a slave for the rest of their lives to debt. I was going down that road, pursuing more, acquiring more, spending more, always wanting MORE. Thank God I've come to my senses. If you don’t believe the majority of America is like this, just Google the average debt of an American. Also, if the idea of having less interests you, check this out.

Consider yourself lucky if you haven’t bought into the lies of “The American Dream.”

--

--