December 1st 2013

Fast Sunday

--

Today was the first Sunday of the month, kinda obvious it being the first and all, which for the LDS church means that it is fast Sunday. Fast Sunday is the first Sunday of most months where we fast for two meals and give what we would've spent on those two meals to our bishops to help those in need.

Practiced my trumpet quite a bit today got my lips really tired. After meeting with Lyle Manwaring for the first time a few weeks ago he told me to only use my upper register embouchure and well, that means less endurance overall, but that's simply due to using a new embouchure. Its getting better though. Intrada by Otto Ketting, the piece I mentioned yesterday is quite fantastic, lots of motion, lots of sway, I really love it. However the problem is, is that it is so rubato that I can’t figure out how the song is supposed to go without listening to it. So consequently I have been listening to it multiple times by multiple artists, including Ketting’s version of it himself.

Isn't that the best think about music? That it can be interpreted in so many varied different ways and still be the correct way to play the piece, in fact there really is no wrong way to interpret a piece of music. Even Otto’s version isn’t the absolutely correct way in which the piece should be played, that’s why we get variations of it with a minute and a half of difference in performance time.

Oh yes I meant to tell you about my new private trumpet teacher. Lyle Manwaring, that's what he is my private lessons teacher for trumpet. I’m not quite sure on how exactly that title is supposed to be portrayed so there is my finest attempt.

Today I went back to codeacedemy.com to see if they had finally fixed their python interpreter on the website, and they had. So I subsequently went on refreshed python in my brain and did a tenth of the course in the matter of a few hours. I love coding, its so empowering. As many coding gods have put it, its like having a superpower. One can quite literally tell the computer to do just about anything, and it will do exactly what you tell it to. Essentially it creates a nice little private slave for everyone, who wouldn't want a private slave. When your’e coding you also don't have to worry about you computer running out of capacity to run your programs, because that would be near impossible. There are no worries over slow internet connections, so no stress there. In fact coding is simply like a giant wonderland of no stress and the ability to create whatever you want. It’s almost like Heaven.

Of course I also read a few articles on this website and added them to a few of my collections.

I did record myself like I said I would yesterday, and in fact I created a nice beginning of a piece that makes me think of a siege of a city. Like any rough draft it needs quite a bit of revision to become a finished project, but for attempting to create my own musical solo on the spot i felt quite inspired, 6 minutes of inspiration.

Anyways signing off

--

--

Andrew waite
The uneventful tales of one curious Andrew Waite

Jazz Musician, Physicist, Idea maker, storyteller,storylistener, Feedback giver, Idea eater, lover of many, check me out at yurspot.blogspot.com