An Autistic’s Social Battery

Why our energy depletes faster than most

Ms. KJ
The Unexpected Autistic Life
3 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Photo by Onur Binay on Unsplash

There are times that I feel drained being around people or things and in certain places. Dealing with some situations will wipe me out, even more so because I’m living with autism. I often emphasize the fact that I reside in Los Angeles, which is a hotbed for sensory overload triggers. Hell, I’m already mentally overstimulated just from riding the bus through Hollywood! (That was yesterday, by the way, which I’ll get into in a bit.)

About 99.99% of the time, I’m an introvert. I often keep to myself and try to stay away from crowded areas because, as I tell folks, I’m highly sensitive to people’s energies. That reason being is because I don’t know that person’s motive or intent, so I tread with caution. That’s also because my social battery is worn out and “on the fritz”, to quote Grandpa Lou Pickles from Rugrats. I mentioned in an older story that autistic people are like smartphones with wonky batteries; those phones quickly go dead and take a long time to recharge. That’s me in a nutshell; I’m that smartphone with the janky ass battery that needs immediate recharging after I die out too quickly.

Finding Someone Who’s Like-Minded

Like attracts like. My social battery as somebody on the spectrum can also recharge when I come…

--

--

Ms. KJ
The Unexpected Autistic Life

I am the author of Longing For The Night, Fire & Water, and The Sassy Savant. When I'm not writing, I run a crochet business on Etsy called SoulfulStitchery.