Autistic? Welcome to Club 299

No diagnosis needed to get past the rope

Not Weird Just Autistic
The Unexpected Autistic Life

--

Welcome to Club 299. We do things a bit differently here, but everything in this environment has been created to make you thrive.

There are no bright lights at Club 299. Nor are there crowds, or loud music.

So, what is Club 299? In the DSM 5, the designation for Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is 299. Therefore, Club 299 is THE place for those with Autism.

The reason for writing this today was that I received a message through Facebook Messenger from a friend I’ve had for 40 years.

Yes. That makes me old-ish.

Here’s what she said…

Photo courtesy Cindy Murishima

I just wanted to reach out to let you know that after I read your Christmas article (congrats on your award!!) my daughter expressed exactly the same reaction to the holidays and having people over- even if it is people we love.

So I shared your article with my husband and that really helped us to be more patient with her. She has never been diagnosed on the spectrum but I have had inklings throughout her childhood. Either way, whether it is diagnosable or

--

--

Not Weird Just Autistic
The Unexpected Autistic Life

J.R. Reed is a late-diagnosed autism self-advocate who writes, speaks, podcasts, and livestreams. He’s also editor at Destigmatizing on Medium.