Will Graham Helped Me Understand Why I Collect Dogs

There’s only love and acceptance

Gaby Rogut
The Unexpected Autistic Life

--

Photo by Nancy Guth from Pexels

Hi, I’m Gaby.

A few facts about me:

I’m Mexican.
I’m a high-school teacher.
I’m autistic (diagnosed in my thirties).

Oh, and I have 11 dogs.

I have always had lots of dogs.

It started when I was a kid. One of my classmates was given away dogs. She gave me a mixed-breed female puppy. She brought it to school, and we played with her all day long.

Yeap, in Mexican schools you can sometimes get away with bringing a pet into the classroom.

I dared bring her home because I had heard my father mention that we should perhaps get a dog. You know, to protect the house.

In the following months, we got more dogs. I don’t remember the exact number, but I think there were about 8 of them.

I would continuously go outside to play with them. It was fun. It was peaceful.

Later on, I moved out of my parents’ house into a small studio. My most significant pain was the fact that dogs were not admitted. Eventually, I moved into a small house, with a bit of a yard.

--

--

Gaby Rogut
The Unexpected Autistic Life

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions