Reflections on Being Laid Off and Unemployed

What over a year of no income and job searching was like, and what I learned

Heather Gioia
The Unfair Advantage

--

Heather Gioia, white female with long brown hair, is sitting in front of a green wall with a laptop. Heather is shrugging her shoulders. She is wearing a black top with the Virginia All Stars Roller Derby logo on the front in white.
Photo by author

I will have spent 402 days searching for a job, 402 days unemployed, and 402 days watching my world fall out beneath me before I start my new role.

After 10 years of working in Human Resources, my career came to an unplanned pause when my position was eliminated.

Since I’ve learned what is like to be laid off, harsh truths, and what living in poverty is like. I’ve learned what it is I want to do for work and so much more.

Career change

After years of dreaming of becoming a journalist, I decided to explore what a career in the field of Communication would be like.

While it was exciting for my background and skills to be recognized by companies and to have made it to the end of various interview processes, it turns out it isn’t what I actually want.

I interviewed for internal communication roles and explored copywriter positions, but nothing had the same spark and excitement that came with working in Human Resources. Working with employees and making a difference.

I think I am most grateful I had the opportunity to chase my “dream” and am most proud I had the…

--

--

Heather Gioia
The Unfair Advantage

​HR PROFESSIONAL | TACO 🌮 LOVER | WRITER | AUTHOR | AUTHENTIC | BENDY BITCH