SHORT READS

What Can I Do To Drastically Improve My Life?

A simple answer to a big question.

Jasmine A.
The Unfair Advantage
3 min readSep 17, 2023

--

“You will never be able to escape from your heart. So, it is better to listen to what it has to say.” — Paulo Coehlo, “The Alchemist”

Photo by christopher lemercier on Unsplash

Be Honest

Be honest about what you want, why you want it, and who you want it with.

Tell me what you truly want to be.

Tell me about the life you want to create.

Tell me about your dreams.

Tell me about your ideal lifestyle, and describe everything in complete detail. Don’t give me an outline, give me a book, and then write another one.

Tell me where you’ve always wanted to live.

Tell me about who your life includes and who it doesn’t.

Do all of these things and just be honest about everything.

Source: GIPHY.com

My House of Cards

I spent my early 20s wanting so much, and yet, I hid everything from the people closest to me. I hid the truth from my family and friends because I was afraid of being seen negatively.

I cared too much about the opinions of others.

I cared so much that I built a house of cards and tried to build my life on top of it. Over time my house of cards got weaker and weaker. It got this way because I lied a lot.

I lied about what I liked and didn’t like.

I lied about what I wanted to do.

I lied about how I truly felt.

I lied so much that I forgot that I didn’t have to lie at all.

I fed myself so many lies that I lived them, and they became a part of me. I went to college knowing that I didn’t want to be there. I excelled in all of my classes and participated in sports and clubs. I played the perfect part and, somewhere along the way I forgot to stop playing the part.

This went on for a long time, and it wasn’t until recently when everything exploded in my face, that I understood where I went wrong.

It’s scary to think that at one point, I thought it was okay to sacrifice my life in that way. I was willing to sacrifice my happiness, peace, and dreams just to feel accepted.

I’m at a point where I’m learning to say my truth, no matter how people feel about it. I’m trying to be honest about the life I want and who I want to spend it with.

I’m building an honest life around what I truly want from myself. I believe that through honesty, I can create the peace I’ve always wanted.

I hope you find this and share your story with me. But don’t make the same mistakes I made.

Don’t lie about who you are, what you want to do, where you want to do it, or who you want to be with. Live honestly, and you will find the ultimate happiness in life.

To my readers: If you enjoyed this article and want to support my writing journey — consider becoming a Medium member. For only $5 a month, you can have unlimited access to all stories on Medium. If you sign up using my link, I receive a small commission!

--

--

Jasmine A.
The Unfair Advantage

🧘 Mindful solutions, strategies, and perspectives 🔗https://bio.link/jasmineabriel