Your Body Knows, and It’s Time to Listen

The Unfair Challenge and the message to spread

Heather Gioia
The Unfair Advantage
2 min readAug 22, 2022

--

Person standing in city street with clear umbrella. They are to the right of the frame with bright neon lights on the buildings. As you look down the street, each building is bright with neon lights, billboards, or other lights. The person is in a gray hoodie with green and white Hawaiian flowers on the back.
Photo by Andrey Grushnikov

I ignored the signs. I didn’t listen to my body. I pushed on, told myself that it wasn’t worth it.

I would take on everything I could, to keep it at bay. To keep it so far away I forgot it was there. Until the day it kicked down the now fragile wall that I had built to keep it back. I was burning the candle at every end, the wick quickly disappearing.

Over 20 years ago, I was an awkward middle schooler confident they needed therapy, but too scared to speak up. 13 years ago, I tried to get help from the college counselor and never followed through. Today, I am in trauma therapy.

Forever I will wonder if 12-year-old me had listened if I would still be in this spot today. If I had had so many suicidal scares, or if I would be able to function normally.

Rather, my brain was programmed to make it by. At least until it couldn’t anymore.

I ignored all the signs. That gut feeling something was wrong. The feeling that I needed help.

Our bodies speak to us. They tell us when something is wrong. It’s pain, blood, or the agonizing feeling of needing help. We need to listen.

--

--

Heather Gioia
The Unfair Advantage

​HR PROFESSIONAL | TACO 🌮 LOVER | WRITER | AUTHOR | AUTHENTIC | BENDY BITCH