Your mother loved you before she even met you

I hope you will love me too

M&Z
The Unfair Advantage
2 min readSep 7, 2022

--

This is a letter your mother wrote for you to read before your 18th birthday when she was only 21 and she hadn’t even met your dad. Small advices for you and small reminder for me in case I forget what it felt like to be 18.

Photo by Mediamodifier on Unsplash

My beloved son,

I hope I have built a beautiful, peaceful and safe family for you. I hope when you look at your dad you see the man you want to be when you grow up and when you look at me you see a warm hug that is always there to support you and love you unconditionally. I want you to know where you want your life to take you and to feel in your soul that you will be happy there. I want you to always tell the truth and hate all lies. I want you to be surrounded by people who will love you deeply. I want you to love a lot. But above all I want you to know to avoid the darkness of the world and never let it disappoint you. No matter how dark the world can be there is always something bright worth fighting for. Keep smiling and never let anyone tear down the image you have built for yourself.

Mommy loves you very much.

PS: I hope you won’t become a spendthrift like me but please don’t be a cheapskate either because mommy won’t bear it!

#TheUnfairChallenge

--

--

M&Z
The Unfair Advantage

We paint and write the art of human emotions, accomplishments, and failures at a social, political, and scientific level. Join us on this journey…