Confusing Crayons

“What’s the color that I should use?” — This is what I asked mostly to myself during my kindergarten years, holding the box of my 24 Crayola bought by my Mama.

Heathcliff Phoenix
The Unfolded Truths
2 min readMar 12, 2021

--

Not everything we see is in its true colors. (Credits to the Photo: Keep Your Zeal For Life)

And as I put colors in my drawing, I’m always being confused over the blue and violet crayons. They have the same shades for me. But little did I know, I will not only confuse these colors over crayons.

With my fashion, I used to wear mostly dresses, high-heel sandals, and headbands. I even have bangs when I was a kid that people adored me most. It maybe is such that I lived with the “color wheel segregation” mindset where light colors are for us girls, but for the dark ones belong to the boys, and that limit is crossed, will be a big outburst.

Growing up seeing my grandfather’s sister’s things all be in violets, I once listed it in my slambook as one of the best colors. Don’t get me wrong because it is still appealing to me up to this day. However, I found myself when I was 7 years old to love blue things, regardless of their shade. And not only the color itself people tend for me to confuse of.

When I was just 5 years old, my godfathers often gift me dolls, and one even gave me the original Barbie. They are very pretty with their long, blonde hairs, big gowns, and blue eyes. But what I could not get is that, how is it not that appealing to me? Sometimes, I throw them far away.

Of course, I highly appreciate these presents, but what they could not get is my interest. For me, cars are more of an adrenaline-giver, or playing basketball is much more of leisure. Yet surely, all these things will end up pretty odd for many, as they thought I would be a “tomboy” when I grew up, making violets will never be blue.

And ten years ago, I now play over our computer with my online games in Minecraft. Oddly, I found dolls more appealing today, wanting the largest dollhouse to exist.

But what I found out more is the fact that just like crayons, violets could be blues, as well as vice-versa. And that if will be mixed, would create a stronger color, ready to fight stereotypes in our society in a concept of crayons.

This is an essay based on the real-life events of the said writer. There are no other sources but their memories that live on.

--

--