What if we could all have the best superpower there is?

Helen Clamp
The Unicorn Factory
2 min readJul 4, 2017

The other day I was asked what my superpower was.

I thought I would have picked teleportation — I love the idea of instantly being anywhere in the world without having to worry about how I get there in the first place. I would love to be able to pop and have a cuppa, cake or glass of wine with so many amazing women I’ve met on the tinternet regardless of where the live.

But that wasn’t the first thing that popped into my head…

Nope — the superpower that came up was quite unexpected…

INNER PEACE

Since when has inner peace been a superpower? I haven’t noticed Marvel or DC promoting Peace Gal anytime recently (but if they do after this you know who they pinched the idea from!!!)

But when I thought about it I realised that Inner Peace is actually a really awesome superpower. Whatever is happening in the world around you, you always know that in any and every moment you are okay.

And unlike other superpowers it’s not an exclusive thing. It’s something that anyone can work on developing AND as you get more of it you start inspiring and empowering others to find it within themselves too.

It’s infectious (in a good way!)

And when you think about it, people who have inner peace in abundance are real life super heros. So much cooler than Batman (no offence Ben Affleck!) When I think of inner peace the first people who come to mind are people like Nelson Mandela and Aung San Suu Kyi. And on the scale of zero to awesome, they are pretty near the top.

It seems the more inner peace you have the more you can feel better in yourself whatever your circumstances… and the closer and closer you get to that illusive other life you feel you are really meant to be living.

Inner peace is having the ability to listen to yourself and trust that you know what is right to you. Inner peace is living life on your terms. Inner peace is looking to yourself for permission and approval.

Inner peace is bloody awesome! Why has it taken me so long to realise that it is pretty much the best super power there is?!

What do you think? Is inner peace your kind of superpower?

--

--

Helen Clamp
The Unicorn Factory

It’s okay to be different // It’s okay to feel whatever you feel // Listen to yourself, trust yourself and be unapologetically YOU!